Deconstructing “Last Kiss”

That’s Wayne Cochran & the C.C. Riders singing “Last Kiss” back in 1963.  Several other groups have covered the song, including Pearl Jam.

So many misconceptions, so little bandwidth. The narrator hopes to go to heaven by being good.  He wants to go to heaven, not in search of the Beatific Vision but to reunite with his girlfriend. This viewpoint sounds like C. S. Lewis’ complaint that some people “think they can use the stairs of Heaven as a short cut to the nearest chemist’s shop.”

End of rant.  This post represents an attempted exorcism, as I try to get the song out of my head.  Out, cursed tune! Out, I say!

UPDATE: When I first posted this, I intended to include a sample of the words.  Here’s the refrain:

Where oh where can my baby be

The Lord took her away from me

She went to heaven so I’ve got to be good

So I can see my baby when I leave this world

Everyone’s a theologian.

Leave a Reply

