What I did on my summer vacation

When school starts in the fall, friendly students often ask, “So what did you do during the vacation?” This pre-emptive post answers that question. Over the summer I:

  • Taught a workshop called “The Christian’s Role in Politics” nine times during my college’s summer program for retirees.
  • Managed four undergraduate online courses and began one graduate course.
  • Wrote four articles for the college’s e-zine.
  • Assisted at the funeral of one of my aunts.
  • Taught a night course in the college’s degree completion program.
  • Attended a motivational seminar.
  • Chaired the annual meeting of a mission support group.
  • Took a couple of day trips with the wife.
  • Saw “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat” for free.
  • Attended a former student’s ordination. (This one is still in the future at press time.)
  • Did all the husband, father, grandfather, church elder, Sunday School teacher, and citizen things that make up the fabric of my life.

This summer was fun. Let’s do it again next year.

UPDATE: I should have mentioned that I’m also reading J.D.G. Dunn’s book Jesus Remembered (Eerdmans, 2003). It’s excellent.

2 Responses to “What I did on my summer vacation”

  1. Fred Wolfe Says:

    You’re making the regular school-year look like the “vacation”.

  2. cbridges6159 Says:

    Ha. I’ve never injured myself by working too hard. If you love what you do, all of life is a vacation.

Leave a Reply

