Space soldiers and the Old Testament

A couple of books I’m in the middle of right now:

  • A Theological Introduction to the Old Testament by Walter Brueggemann and some other people. It’s a 500 page textbook that helps me pull together some aspects of the text that hadn’t occurred to me before.
  • John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War. It’s a space opera in the tradition of Heinlein’s Starship Troopers and Joe Haldeman’s The Forever War. Scalzi treats war as a tragic necessity.

Any connection between the two books? Only one that I can see: In different ways, both show a deep discomfort with war.

2 Responses to “Space soldiers and the Old Testament”

  1. Blair Wilgus Says:

    I had to check to make sure you were referring to the book i was thinking of because I would have assumed Terence Fretheim would have gotten a mention rather that being one of “some other people!” He’s not as prolific as Brueggemann but he’s published a lot and his primary research seems to be on the dynamic relationship between God and world. His “The Suffering of God” kind of cemented my decision to do OT studies. Glad you’re dabbling in OT studies yourself. You know, it’s not too late to convert. 🙂

  2. cbridges6159 Says:

    Ha. I mentioned Brueggemann because I am a dabbler in OT studies and he’s the only one I remember hearing of. I heard him speak once in the 1980s.

    Convert to OT studies? Get thee behind me.

Leave a Reply

