How to raise a feral child

“I did my childhood summers in the 1950s and 60s, and I can tell you my parents did not get the slightest bit involved in my activities. There was a community pool that we had tags to get into if we felt like going. We had bikes. What we did with these things was entirely up to us, and there wasn’t a word of criticism if we chose to watch TV all day or a hint of praise if we read books or went outside. My parents never made the slightest show of putting any effort into good parenting. Looking back, I can discern that they had some principles that they stuck to, but these principles were things like self-reliance and personal autonomy, so it was hard to notice, and they didn’t pontificate about these principles, which I’m only inferring they had.” — Althouse, emphasis added.

3 Responses to “How to raise a feral child”

  1. Tom Cooperider (@tomcooperider) Says:

    interesting….I had a similar experience except for the discussions on the things my parents valued….you are a Cooperider so tell the truth, treat people the way you want to be treated, we go to church on Sunday morning, and be in by dinnertime

  2. Dirk Holt Says:

    But the community had no problem getting involved back then – at least they did for me and stopped me before I completed digging a tunnel under a city street.

  3. cbridges6159 Says:

    Before you “completed” it? Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

