Snake handling in the Bible

Image

A local news station interviewed me about the longer ending of the Gospel of Mark–not the kind of thing you expect to see on TV news, except that we have a court case going on locally about snake handling in church. The interviewer and cameraman were very professional; the only quibble I have is that the edit made me say the longer ending of Mark appears in various positions in the manuscripts when I said that about the woman caught in adultery passage instead.

UPDATE (1/8/2014): A Campbell County, Tennessee, grand jury has returned a no true bill, refusing to indict the pastor.

4 Responses to “Snake handling in the Bible”

  1. jeffreylayne Says:

    That’s unfortunate. Can this be watched online anywhere? Also, the above photo surprises me. I didn’t that Scott Kenworthy was a snake-handler. šŸ˜‰

  2. cbridges6159 Says:

    Sure. Just click on the link at the word “interviewed.”

  3. Steven Says:

    I have dealt with the media a few times in my life and they never seem to get it right.. having grown up around snake handling churches this is not shocking to me. As a minister I get asked about this all the time. I do not teach that this is needed as part of worship but I don’t judge people that practice it as an act of faith. I believe lack of true faith is in short supply in todays churches and that concerns me greatly. Great interview professor. it was nice to see you even if it was not face to face.. as always my best regards and respect. Steven

  4. mar52690 Says:

    Reblogged this on Thoughts of a Seminary Student.

Leave a Reply

